ShowEast to Honor Carmike Cinemas’ Larry Collins With the Annual “Show ‘E’ Award” at the 2008 Convention

on August 26, 2008

NEW YORK - Larry Collins, Senior Vice President of Film for Carmike Cinemas, will be honored with the 2008 “Show ‘E’ Award” at the upcoming ShowEast convention, it was announced by Mitch Neuhauser, Co-Managing Director of the annual convention. Collins will be awarded this distinguished honor on Thursday evening, October 16, 2008 at the Orlando World Center Marriott as part of the Final Night Banquet and Awards Ceremony at ShowEast. The annual “Show ‘E’ Award” is presented to an industry member whose achievements, accomplishments and dedication to the industry are unequalled.

“ShowEast is truly honored to be able to single out Larry Collins with this year’s Show ‘E’ Award”, noted Mitch Neuhauser. “Throughout his 40-year career in the business, he has achieved enormous success in bringing quality films to theatres across the country through his astute negotiating and excellent reputation with film companies and distributors”.

Collins joined Carmike Cinemas in 1994 as a Film Buyer where he supervised bookers in selecting and placing films in competitive and non-competitive markets. He was promoted to Vice President of Film in 2005, a role in which he supervises the Film Buyers who oversee daily theatre bookings and projects bookings and coordinates with Film Buyers on allocations in competitive markets. Collins also negotiates with radio/TV stations and distributors to set promotional advanced film screenings.

Carmike Cinemas is headquartered in Columbus, Georgia. It currently operates 262 theaters in 36 states. Carmike Cinemas targets small to mid-sized communities with populations of 50,000-250,000 where it is the sole or premier exhibitor in those niche markets.

Prior to joining Carmike Cinemas, Collins was the Vice President of Film for Cinema World Theatres (1992-1994), Head Film Buyer for Cinemette Theatres (1978-1994), Film Buyer for Milgram Theatres Inc. (1973-1978) and Student Booker with Universal Pictures (1969-1973).

Past recipients of the “Show ‘E’ Award” have included: David Tuckerman, Bill Stembler, Nick Carpou & Mark Gaines, Chuck Viane, Herman Stone, Jeff Blake, Bruce Snyder and Mike Campbell.

ShowEast 2008 will take place from October 13-16, 2008 at the Orlando World Center Marriott. It will feature numerous screenings of upcoming major films, sponsored events, timely and informative seminars and the ShowEast Trade Show. An estimated 1,500 members of the motion picture industry are expected to attend. ShowEast, now in its 24th year, is produced by the Nielsen Film Group, a division of Nielsen Business Media.


Tags: showeast, carmike cinemas

read all News »

What do you think?