Overnight

on November 10, 2004 by Susan Green
Print
Shakespeare would probably have loved Troy Duffy, a commoner elevated to entertainment royalty until his blinding ambition loses him the throne. In the fascinating "Overnight," director/cinematographer Mark Brian Smith chronicles this tragicomic arc as a cautionary tale for aspiring young filmmakers in the cultural kingdom. By a fortuitous act of fate, he and producer/co-editor Tony Montana began shooting footage of Duffy's 1997 ascent from bartender to crown prince of the American Dream, Hollywood-style. The documentarians stuck with it for several more years, despite off-with-their-heads threats, to witness the well-deserved denouement.

Duffy, lead guitarist in a band from Massachusetts called The Brood, had moved to California to pursue his self-described childhood plan to conquer the world. Miramax options his screenplay, "The Boondock Saints." Moreover, he's asked to direct the project (now a cult favorite in video stores) and The Brood is promised a chance to perform the soundtrack. A publicity blitz with headlines such as "Filmland's Newest Find" is reason for celebration, which Duffy and his good-ol'-boy buddies do by drinking themselves into oblivion.

The guy's already outsized ego knows no bounds. "We deserve every ounce of recognition we get," he proclaims, while hobnobbing with agents and celebrities. Before long, the bragging has mushroomed: One boast, "I surpassed everyone and got to the top," echoes the Bard's most delusional literary tyrants. But praising his band for its "deep cesspool of creativity" does not really say much for Duffy's intellect. He also remains arrogant when Miramax executives stop returning his calls. Although the showbiz sharks are ferocious, it's difficult to feel much compassion for someone whose middle name must be Hubris and who should have heeded the line from "Macbeth" that's a warning to all megalomaniacs: "Have we eaten on the insane root that takes the reason prisoner?" Starring Troy Duffy, Taylor Duffy, Jeffrey Baxter, Billy Connolly and Willem Dafoe. Directed by Mark Brian Smith. Produced by Tony Montana. A Thinkfilm release. Documentary. Rated R for pervasive strong language, sexual references and some nudity. Running time: 85 min

Tags: No Tags
Print

read all Reviews »


24 Comments

  • Rory_8 on 12 October 2019

    The man who is already led is not bordering. "We are worthy of every offer we receive," he announces, busy with representatives and celebrities. He showed me https://www.topaperwritingservices.com/review-bestessay-com/ . Before long, the arrogance boiled over: One boasting, "I surpassed everyone and reached the top," imitates Bard's most repressive dictator. But praising his band for a "deep creative cesspool" didn't really say much to Duffy's genius.

  • oliver47 on 22 November 2019

    I think that you need to also check out this blog post https://payforessaywriters.com/how-to-write-a-research-paper for some tips on how to write a research paper. I think that you need to do it as soon as possible

  • Juvanta on 07 March 2020

    This is a good site where they share reviews of the movies. It will be helpful for those who are interested in movies. Here they have clearly provided the review of The Last night movie. Thanks for sharing this. https://www.loveknotengagementrings.com/diamond-facts/how-to-choose-a-ring-that-suits-your-personal-style/

  • muneer ahmed on 23 March 2020

    Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-oil-2500mg/

  • muneer ahmed on 29 March 2020

    This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I love seeing blog that understand the value of providing a quality resource for free.
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-oil-1000mg/

  • muneer ahmed on 30 March 2020

    Very interesting blog. A lot of blogs I see these days don't really provide anything that I'm interested in, but I'm most definitely interested in this one. Just thought that I would post and let you know
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-oil-500mg/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    You have done a great job. I will definitely dig it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this site.
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-oil-250mg/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    I am all that much satisfied with the substance you have specified. I needed to thank you for this extraordinary article.
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-gummies-10mg/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    Great article with excellent idea!Thank you for such a valuable article. I really appreciate for this great information..
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-gummies-25mg/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    Thanks for sharing this interesting blog with us.My pleasure to being here on your blog..I wanna come beck here for new post from your site.
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-capsules-25mg/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    Very interesting blog. A lot of blogs I see these days don't really provide anything that I'm interested in, but I'm most definitely interested in this one. Just thought that I would post and let you know
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-roll-on-gel/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I love seeing blog that understand the value of providing a quality resource for free.
    https://royalcbd.com/product/cbd-salve/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    For a long time me & my friend were searching for informative blogs, but now I am on the right place guys, you have made a room in my heart!
    https://royalcbd.com/shop/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    A fascinating dialog is value remark. I feel that it is best to compose more on this matter, it may not be an unthinkable theme however generally people are insufficient to chat on such subjects. To the following. Salud.
    https://royalcbd.com/

  • muneer ahmed on 02 April 2020

    A very awesome blog post. We are really grateful for your blog post. You will find a lot of approaches after visiting your post. I was exactly searching for. Thanks for such post and please keep it up. Great work
    https://royalcbd.com/blog/

  • muneer ahmed on 07 April 2020

    Visit our site to find more about wedding photographer Northern Virginia. We offer engagement and proposal photography in Va.
    http://www.techinweb.com/extratorrent-proxy/

  • muneer ahmed on 13 April 2020

    I am looking for and I love to post a comment that "The content of your post is awesome" Great work
    http://199.192.23.181/

  • muneer ahmed on 15 April 2020

    I am looking for and I love to post a comment that "The content of your post is awesome" Great work
    https://www.mupwebdesign.com/

  • muneer ahmed on 20 April 2020

    I like this post,And I figure that they having a great time to peruse this post,they might take a decent site to make an information,thanks for sharing it to me.
    https://www.ispace1.com/Friends-Acquaintances

  • muneer ahmed on 20 April 2020

    Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I'll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon. Big thanks for the useful info
    http://www.neovoyance.com/voyance-audiotel.html

  • muneer ahmed on 25 April 2020

    A fascinating dialog is value remark. I feel that it is best to compose more on this matter, it may not be an unthinkable theme however generally people are insufficient to chat on such subjects. To the following. Salud.
    https://www.smartermovesblog.com/

  • muneer ahmed on 29 April 2020

    Great job for publishing such a beneficial web site. Your web log isn’t only useful but it is additionally really creative too. There tend to be not many people who can certainly write not so simple posts that artistically. Continue the nice writing https://www.whrmarketing.com/getresponse-review/

  • muneer ahmed on 05 May 2020

    Regular visits listed here are the easiest method to appreciate your energy, which is why why I am going to the website everyday, searching for new, interesting info. Many, thank you
    http://154.16.173.113/login/

  • muneer ahmed on 12 May 2020

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to start my own BlogEngine blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a fine example of it.
    https://n1d.ca/

What do you think?