The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

on June 01, 2005 by Wade Major
Print
As coming-of-age films go, the big-screen adaptation of Ann Brashares' popular novel is one of the more bathetic, an approach that should handily earn the devotion of indiscriminating teenage girls alienated by summertime "Star Wars" mania even as it nauseates most everyone else.

Films like "Stand by Me" and its less-lauded female counterpart "Now and Then" provide the tenuous model for "Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants," a film about friendship in which the friends are rarely seen together. On the eve of both womanhood and their first-ever summer apart, a quartet of 17-year-old pals-from-birth -- America Ferrera, Blake Lively, Alexis Bledel and Amber Tamblyn -- happen across a seemingly magical pair of jeans that happens to perfectly fit all four of their very different bodies. Sensing that this is some sort of mystical omen, they agree to take turns with the jeans, each successive wearer FedExing them on to the next when their time is up.

Beyond the mystery of the universal fit, there's nothing terribly wondrous from here on out -- while wearing the jeans, each girl undergoes a fundamental growth experience, but it's never more than implied that the jeans had anything to do with it. Carmen (Ferrera) expects to spend a happy summer with her father, only to find out that he has a fiancée and a pair of soon-to-be stepchildren waiting in the wings. Blonde bombshell Bridget (Lively) heads to Mexico for soccer camp only to get romantically involved with a hunky coach. Lena (Bledel) goes to Greece to visit her grandparents, only to fall in love with a boy from the family of their arch-enemies. As the only one of the four who didn't leave town, Tibby (Tamblyn) aims to finish her documentary on the working townsfolk, only to end up unexpectedly befriended by a younger girl (Jenna Boyd) suffering from leukemia. And through it all, audiences will enter theaters expecting a heartwarming tale of estrogen-enhanced camaraderie only to be pummeled by one sentimental cliché after another. This is, yet again, a movie in which the pretty girls get the boys, friends are always there when needed and no problem is too great for the power of love -- life lessons that are today at least as dated as they have always been soundly untrue.

Not that all this will really come as a huge surprise to anyone reading the credit block -- it's essentially the same type of thing that screenwriters Delia Ephron ("This is My Life," "Hanging Up") and Elizabeth Chandler ("What a Girl Wants," "Someone Like You") have been doing separately for years. It's also firmly in keeping with the slushy mediocrity that director Ken Kwapis ("Beautician and the Beast," "Dunston Checks In," "He Said, "She Said") has increasingly made his stock and trade. Miraculously, the four young actresses seem entirely unaware of the train wreck to which they've been hitched -- and that's a good thing, because without their fine and convincing performances, there would be absolutely nothing to make this interminably overlong 120-minute melodrama worth watching. Starring America Ferrera, Blake Lively, Alexis Bledel, Amber Tamblyn, Jenna Boyd, Bradley Whitford, Nancy Travis and Rachel Ticotin. Directed by Ken Kwapis. Written by Delia Ephron and Elizabeth Chandler. Produced by Debra Martin Chase and Denise Di Novi. A Warner Bros. release. Drama. Rated PG for thematic elements, some sensuality and language. Running time: 120 min

Tags: Blake Lively, Alexis Bledel, Amber Tamblyn, Jenna Boyd, Bradley Whitford, Nancy Travis and Rachel Ticotin. Directed by Ken Kwapis. Written by Delia Ephron and Elizabeth Chandler, Produced by Debra Martin Chase, Denise Di Novi, Warner Bros, Drama, America Ferrera
Print

read all Reviews »


22 Comments

  • steve7876 on 12 February 2020

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!https://exquisiteaircharter.com/

  • steve7876 on 22 February 2020

    I read about this on Slog yesterday, and it sounds like such a good idea. If infomercials can convince people to buy crap they don't need, surely it can convince them that legalization is a good idea. Visit https://uaesafari.ae/abu-dhabi-city-tour/ for more
    Information.

  • steve7876 on 01 March 2020

    I just stumbled upon your blog and ached to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog post. Its a great pleasure reading your post. I'd really like to help appreciate it with the efforts you get with writing this post. Thanks for sharing. Visit https://www.lostinsrilanka.com/ella-sri-lanka/ for the information about sri lanka travel.

  • steve7876 on 02 March 2020

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your points and have come to the conclusion that you are right about many of them. You are great. A wide range of workshops, tours, and concerts round off the fortress experience is a good change.
    https://www.india-visa-gov.in/india-visa-eligibility/india-visa-for-netherlands-citizens

  • steve7876 on 03 March 2020

    It should be seen that while asking for papers accessible to be acquired at paper creating organization, you can get unkind perspective. If you feel that the specialist is attempting to cheat you, don't buy inquire about task from it.
    https://www.india-visa-gov.in/india-visa-application

  • steve7876 on 23 May 2020

    Thanks for a very interesting blog. What else may I get that kind of info written in such a perfect approach? I’ve a undertaking that I am simply now operating on, and I have been at the look out for such info.https://www.chinaxiantour.com/china-silk-road-tour

  • steve7876 on 30 May 2020

    I am very happy to visit in the post. In the post is very interesting and informative for me. Some people visited to here in the post or a review is very good. Thanks for sharing in the post.
    https://cheap-flights-100.blogspot.com/

  • steve7876 on 05 June 2020

    Positive site, where did u come up with the information on this posting?I have read a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style. Thanks a million and please keep up the effective work.
    https://www.icarustravellers.com/london-top-20-tourist-attractions/

  • steve7876 on 06 June 2020

    Yes, I am entirely agreed with this article, and I just want say that this article is very helpful and enlightening. I also have some precious piece of concerned info !
    https://www.rotaradar.com/

  • steve7876 on 19 August 2020

    An interesting post, it’s really a good experience to do it. I’ve helped over five-hundred students as well as their families realize their college goals, and can happily lend my expertise to make sure your family achieves your objectives too. I’ve had students become Questbridge Scholars and Posse Scholars, and 100% of my past students were accepted to the school and received scholarships.
    http://www.albania.al/

  • steve7876 on 25 August 2020

    Awesome, Its a great blog about travel. This blog gave us great knowledge that is very informative. Simple and lovely site, I have ever seen you provide the best website. Keep your work doing well like this.
    https://www.rotaradar.com/sunexpress-ucak-bileti

  • steve7876 on 28 August 2020

    I am very happy to visit in the post. In the post is very interesting and informative for me. Some people visited to here in the post or a review is very good. Thanks for sharing in the post.
    https://www.rotaradar.com/

  • steve7876 on 28 August 2020

    Devote a wonderful time in Dubai desert with our Evening Desert Safari! It is an essential activity when going to this part of the world. Our team will help you enjoy your time with your beloved or friends with our custom-made tour for wonderful memories to adore with them. This evening desert safari tour includes dune driving, sand-boarding, smoking water-pipe, belly dancing, a delicious BBQ dinner, and is tranquil with a six-hour adventure in the beautiful desert in Dubai.
    https://www.desertsafaritours.com/dubai-tours/evening-desert-safari/

  • steve7876 on 30 August 2020

    HI,
    Our online courses are designed without walls and without invisible ceilings. And that means irrespective of who you are, you're going to have access to it all. Nothing held back, just empowering content that will not only teach you what's possible but also make you powerful.
    https://www.christinesanni.com/

  • steve7876 on 12 September 2020

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally ? taking time and actual effort to make a very good article? but what can I say?
    http://www.airportdriver24.at/

  • steve7876 on 23 September 2020

    An interesting post, it’s really a good experience to do it. I’ve helped over five-hundred students as well as their families realize their college goals, and can happily lend my expertise to make sure your family achieve your objectives too. I’ve had students become Questbridge Scholars and Posse Scholars, and 100% of my past students were accepted to school and received scholarships.
    http://www.albania.al/

  • traveland on 28 September 2020

    Zamanınızın değerli olduğunu biliyoruz ve uçak bileti, otel, vize veya araç kiralama işlemleri için gereksiz araştırma yapıp zaman kaybetmenizin önüne geçiyoruz. https://www.traveland.com.tr

  • steve7876 on 05 October 2020

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your points and have come to the conclusion that you are right about many of them. You are great. A wide range of workshops, tours, and concerts round off the fortress experience is a good change.
    https://www.tngholidays.com/

  • steve7876 on 05 October 2020

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your points and have come to the conclusion that you are right about many of them. You are great. A wide range of workshops, tours, and concerts round off the fortress experience is a good change.
    https://skyredthailand.com/

  • steve7876 on 20 October 2020

    Your content is nothing short of brilliant in many ways. I think this is engaging and eye-opening material. Thank you so much for caring about your content and your readers. keep it up.
    https://bajacaliforniatravel.it/

  • steve7876 on 20 October 2020

    It was very well authored and easy to understand. Unlike other blogs I have read which are really not that good.Thanks a lot! Thanks for sharing this great topic.
    http://albania.al/destinations/tirana/

  • turkishvisa on 25 October 2020

    dfdf

What do you think?