The Professionals

on November 07, 1966 by BOXOFFICE Staff
Print
   Two of the nation's top male draws, Burt Lancaster and Lee Marvin, are here given a strong outdoors adventure story written by Richard Brooks, who also directed against magnificently stark Mexican backgrounds photographed in Panavision and Technicolor by Conrad Hall. With Jack Palance and veterans Robert Ryan and Ralph Bellamy in strong roles and the sultry Claudia Cardinale for feminine allure, this is top action fare that should do smash business. Laid during the 1917 Mexican Revolution, the picture starts off with a kidnapping premise but soon develops even greater intrigue and suspense right up to a surprise climax. Lancaster is at his shoot-em-up acrobatic best, Marvin is fine as an embittered Army vet, and Palance excels as a villainous Mexican bandit. All three might be typed, but their performances couldn't be bettered. The giant Woody Strode is another fighting character, while Ryan is effective in a quieter part. Miss Cardinale, who is tempestuous and completely unsympathetic, shares female honors with fiery Maria Gomez. Brooks, whose previous film was "Lord Jim," here never permits audience interest to lag. Maurice Jarre's haunting musical score is top-notch. A Pax Enterprises production.
EXPLOITIPS

   The name cast is the chief selling point, particularly Burt Lancaster, who has won film critics' awards for both "From Here to Eternity" and "Birdman of Alcatraz," and Lee Marvin, last year's Academy Award winner for "Cat Ballou." Claudia Cardinale, although her role is not a romantic lead, and Jack Palance are also popular.
CATCHLINES

   The Utmost in Excitement--Acted by a Cast of Top-Name Stars...The Excitement Is Adventure--The Adventure Is Classic.    [In Los Angeles on June 20, Columbia Repertory releases a new Panavision print of Richard Brooks' all-star western, which garnered Brooks two Oscar noms (for direction and adapted screenplay) after its November 1966 bow via Columbia. Here's what BOXOFFICE had to say in its Nov. 7, 1966 issue.]
Tags: No Tags
Print

read all Reviews »


11 Comments

  • majece on 18 December 2018

    If you want to know more about writing Bachelor thesis, try to check this out! On https://get-thesis.com/blog/bachelor-thesis you can read these advices

  • earnmoneynetwork on 23 September 2019

    Love to read it,Waiting For More new Update and I Already Read your Recent Post its Great Thanks. https://www.earnmoneynetwork.com

  • ArtShools on 25 September 2019

    I am happy to find this post very useful for me. as it contains lot of information. I always prefer to read the quality content and this thing I found in you post. Thanks for sharing. https://ArtShools.com

  • carinsurancequotesbank on 25 September 2019

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. https://www.carinsurancequotesbank.com

  • Juvanta on 15 January 2020

    Boxoffice is a good site where they share reviews of various movies. I use to visit this site often to know about the review of various movies. I think it is one of the best sites for film lovers. http://www.mostpopularcbdproducts.com/most-popular-cbd-products/missteps-to-avoid-when-purchasing-cbd-products/

  • dylanrees on 01 April 2020

    Gaming world is unmistakably overwhelming the associating with divide through the world. Use https://www.paragraphcorrector.com/ source for paragraph correcting. Truly, gaming is the best choice when showed up diversely corresponding to another attracting assets.

  • dylanrees on 01 April 2020

    Nowadays we are standing up to the issues of corrupting, pollution, overgrazing, source utilization, and species end. Get best passive voice corrector from https://www.passivevoicecorrector.com/ source. To deal these troubles, we are requiring biological preparing.

  • dylanrees on 01 April 2020

    Seeking after and going for the grown-up training degree would be exceptionally helpful for the individuals. I use passive fixer from https://www.passivevoicefixer.com/ source. Landing positions can't these days yet achieving that degree would make it simple.

  • anonymous1 on 28 April 2020

    So plainly obvious, the most perceivably horrendous see of understudy's life is the point. Visit http://www.englishgrammarcheck.org/english-text-check-check-your-entire-text-in-one-click/ source to get best grammar checker. As an understudy I know exceptional that the understudies don't normally like assessment.

  • anonymous1 on 28 April 2020

    This is a particularly begging to be proven wrong chat on whether to pick demanding direction or standard getting ready. Get punctuation checker from https://www.punctuationchecker.org/proper-punctuation-of-titles/ source. everybody has their own special perspectives.

  • ryanbabraham on 06 May 2020

    The professional is one of the best and popular British crime-action television drama series. I like this series, and the direction and screenplay are too good. https://usepurecbdoil.com You guys must see this series. I think you will definitely like it.

What do you think?