Girl makes for a solid romantic romp

My Best Friend's Girl

on September 23, 2008 by Amy Nicholson
Print

Ladies hate Dane Cook—and he’s smirking all the way to the bank. His gift is scared-straight dinners that remind freshly-single girls that the dating market isn’t any cheerier than Wall Street. (And their exes cut him more cash than stockholders have seen this year.) Lowering expectations is his lucrative part-time gig—naturally, his steady one is customer service—even though his roommate and best friend Dustin (Jason Biggs) calls it “emotional terrorism.” Cook prefers “tanking,” a term he likes so much Tank is his character’s go-to name.

Howard Deutch’s pragmatic shock-romantic comedy divides people into jerks and pushovers: those who screw and smile and those who sigh alone. It’s an anti-romance where women are content to nod along as Tank explains that they prefer being treated like crap. “You really are an asshole,” gripes a model-perfect 10. “Then walk away,” he counters. Cut to them making out in an alley. Dustin is the optimist who just professed love to his co-worker and quasi girlfriend of five weeks, Alexis (Kate Hudson). And so she dumps him. C’mon, he’s such a pussywillow, he orders them both steak when he’s a vegan. (Though screenwriter Jordan Cahan must have forgotten that detail after the breakup leaves him stuffing his face with Doritos.) Alexis is level-headed; therefore, according to roommate Ami (Lizzy Caplan) and the rules of Deutch’s romance, she must go insane and bonk everything with a schlong, human and plastic. Which is how she resolves to tolerate Tank’s jerkface routine after Dustin sics him on his lady love.

Why do women prefer pricks? Deutch and Cahan avoid psychoanalysis, but we empathize with both Alexis and Dustin as his increasingly elaborate gift displays of donuts build a wall between them thicker than the inches of new padding on her hips. By contrast, her connection to Tank is purely physical. Still, after arguing—with conviction—that the best way to survive on the meat market is to put yourself on sale, Cook warms to Hudson’s gorgeous tom-boy charms, much to the surprise of everyone he’s ever met, including dad Alec Baldwin in a one-note riot of a role as a horndog Women’s Studies professor. (In his first and best scene, he punctuates a bananas story about last night’s coed with, “Now that’s a Tuesday night!”)

Cook and Hudson have a passably brash chemistry. Like the great screwball comedies, their turn-on is savaging each other with insults, though Gable and Lombard didn’t share their focus on testicles. It’s not a huge compliment to call this Cook’s best film—though it is—but Cahan’s curious and increasingly sincere slant on modern romance outshines its efforts to please his MySpace fan base with gross-out gags. (Some of which are damned funny, like a wedding scene where he drops his pants before the mother of the bride and announces, “C’mon, it’s not going to suck itself.”) Cook’s crisis is that after years of being the lowest common denominator, he’s less than Hudson deserves. Oddly, while today’s female writers pen insults like 21 Dresses and The Accidental Husband, male filmmakers have never been more sincere and affecting. Films like My Best Friend’s Girl and Adam Brooks’ Definitely, Maybe are about choices, not fate. They believe in work, not soul mates, the best stripping their male leads of the Ken-doll perfection of chick flicks that seem to say an ovulating womb will settle for any hunk of meat. And when Hudson dismisses Cook by telling him he’s not the one, his patient reply—“Not yet, but I’ll get there”—is more romantic than a shipping truck of roses.


Distributor: Lionsgate
Cast: Kate Hudson, Dane Cook and Jason Biggs
Director: Howard Deutch
Screenwriter: Jordan Cahan
Producers: Guymon Casady, Dane Cook, Adam Herz, Doug Johnson, Barry Katz, Gregory Lessans, Josh Shader and Brian Volk-Weiss
Genre: Comedy
Rating: R for strong language and sexual content throughout, including graphic dialogue and some nudity
Running time: 101 min.
Release date: September 19

Tags: Kate Hudson, Dane Cook, Jason Biggs, Alec Baldwin, Lizzy Caplan, Howard Deutch
Print

read all Reviews »


21 Comments

  • anonymous1 on 28 April 2020

    Online getting ready is approach to manage develop the limits. You can get best comma corrector from https://www.commacorrector.com/improve-your-punctuation-with-grammar-and-punctuation-checker-free-online/ source. Getting from the web is very entrancing thing.

  • anonymous1 on 28 April 2020

    Enormous proportions of regions are giving on the web planning along these lines. Get sentence corrector from https://www.checkmysentence.com/sentence-checker-and-corrector-online/ website. it is difficult for the understudies to know which one is one of a kind.

  • anonymous1 on 28 April 2020

    There are experts for each field in online direction area you can make your solicitation. Read http://www.commacheck.net/10-ideas-for-a-comma-placement-check/ article to learn more about comma placement. We can share our perspectives to the others by joining the online direction entryway.

  • anonymous3 on 26 May 2020

    Arranging has no limitations. Preparing has develop extremely when. I visited http://www.sentencechecker.info/ website and found very nice ideas about content writing. In the past it was uncommonly inconvenient for an understudy.

  • anonymous3 on 26 May 2020

    Schools and other educational relationship in the general people. Getting info from this http://www.sentencecorrection.org/your-text-will-be-flawless-after-you-run-it-through-our-english-sentence-structure-checker/ article can be handy for schoolkids. Better nature of affiliations improves realizes lighting up propensities for thinking.

  • muneer ahmed on 16 July 2020

    This is a wonderful article, Given so much info in it, These type of articles keeps the users interest in the website, and keep on sharing more ... good luck.
    https://houstonembroideryservice.com/custom-patches/

  • muneer ahmed on 25 July 2020

    I like this post,And I figure that they having a great time to peruse this post,they might take a decent site to make an information,thanks for sharing it to me.
    https://seokeyworder.com/

  • muneer ahmed on 28 July 2020

    Great job for publishing such a beneficial web site. Your web log isn’t only useful but it is additionally really creative too. There tend to be not many people who can certainly write not so simple posts that artistically. Continue the nice writing
    http://houstonembroideryservice.com/custom-patches/

  • muneer ahmed on 28 July 2020

    Interesting post. I Have Been wondering about this issue. so thanks for posting. Pretty cool post.It 's really very nice and Useful post.Thanks
    https://excellentdigitizing.com/

  • shubham20199 on 12 August 2020

    thanks for sharing information awesome blog post https://www.lyricsauto.com/

  • muneer ahmed on 29 August 2020

    Thanks for sharing this interesting blog with us.My pleasure to being here on your blog..I wanna come beck here for new post from your site.
    https://neogoods.net/shop/

  • jeff127 on 26 September 2020

    Interesting. Stay happy with https://myrelist.com/beautiful-happy-shayari/

  • muneer ahmed on 10 November 2020

    Good composed article. It will be steady to any individual who uses it, including me. Continue doing what you are doing – can'r hold up to peruse more posts.
    https://houstonembroideryservice.com/custom-patches/

  • lawrence11 on 17 November 2020

    J4Jacket always tries to give you as many alternatives as we can. This time, we have moved a step ahead of every other fashion brand by coming up with a Blazers For Women collection to provide you with an option for workplaces other than the boring suits and tuxedos.
    Ladies! You need styling the most. To fill some extra energy in your boring everyday routine, J4Jacket has come up with some amazing Women Blazers in a variety of colors from every genre. Style them as per your mood and feel like a VIP.
    https://www.j4jacket.com/product-category/women/jackets/women-blazer/

  • ashlyhales on 04 December 2020

    I have seen this movie's review that was good and I just want to watch this movie with my friends. By watching the movies you got some entertainment and enjoy some times by watchong. https://akamalifestyle.com/

  • davidmartin916 on 16 December 2020

    This is what I am looking for, and thanks for your efforts to write a post on this informative topic. https://affiliatemarketingmonk.com/

  • catherinejoshua on 16 December 2020

    We are here to provide you the quality heating repair and installation service in NJ to maximize your indoor air quality systems. Due to the change in climate control, Our aim is to provide customers the best HVAC service so they can enjoy their indoor home comfort. https://bobsclimatecontrol.com/

  • saralouis on 17 December 2020

    At KJ Ingredients we distribute quality food ingredients in the USA, and we manufacture the food ingredients in China. We maintain distribution facilities in strategic locations across the United States, With KJ Ingredients you can be assured of making the right choice with the unsurpassed quality of our carefully sourced products. https://kjingredients.com/

  • nicoleramrez on 17 December 2020

    Scopestraight is an alignment tool to aid in the installation of a scope. This is an adjustable assembly that attaches to a rifle with a Picatinny rail. You align the vertical cross hair of your scope to the vertical slot in the sliding adjustable part of the Scopestraight assembly. https://scopestraight.com/

  • tarajuliett on 08 January 2021

    I was just searching for the movie's review and I saw this this is really good. keep it up https://www.hrminternationalconsulting.com/

  • elijahgoodwinn on 12 January 2021

    movie reviews are a very sincere job because of a few lines you hurt lots of people in several ways. https://signswholesalenowinc.com/

What do you think?