Promises—and delivers—trash cinema

Hobo with a Shotgun

on January 27, 2011 by Steve Ramos
Print

hobowithashotgunreview.pngThe winning entry of the Grindhouse Trailer Contest and a YouTube sensation grows into a full-length feature and a worthy contribution to pulp cinema. Hobo With A Shotgun made its world premiere in the Park City at Midnight section of the 2011 Sundance Film Festival and is a fan-friendly movie that delivers on its genre promises. Hobo also welcomes director Jason Eisener and writer John Davies as a clever creative pair ready to add new bloody classics to the trash cinema canon. Better yet, Eisener and Davies introduce Rutger Hauer, star of '80s pulp classic The Hitcher and many other films, to a new generation of fans as the raggedy wandering hero who takes it upon himself to battle a crime boss with little more than a shotgun.

With squishy gore and ample gunfire, Hobo With A Shotgun has the potential to be a top performer for Magnet Releasing, the genre arm of specialty distributor Magnolia Pictures, when it plays in arthouses and on-demand this spring. Crossover biz will be slight, even with Hauer as the titular hero, but strong turnout by genre fans will help make Hobo With A Shotgun a B-movie hit.

A kind-hearted hobo (Hauer) jumps off the freight train with the intention of making his new home better and earning some extra money via a secondhand lawnmower. But Drake (Brian Downey), the city's crime boss and his two thuggish sons, Slick (Gregory Smith) and Ivan (Nick Bateman), attempt to rid themselves of the hobo by tossing him on a trash heap. Committed to staying in his newfound home and armed with a shotgun, the hobo partners with a pretty woman named Abby (Molly Dunsworth) to take on his assailants and the results are bloody fun.

Hauer, best known for his recent supporting role opposite Christian Bale in Batman Begins, is both courageous and slightly demented as the titular hero who battles the crime boss and his sons. Imagine Nicolas Cage playing a combination of his roles from Kick-Ass and Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans and you'll get the idea. Hauer looks grizzled throughout Hobo and his wrinkled face and bulging belly suit the titular hero perfectly.

Newcomer Molly Dunsworh brings welcome sex appeal to the adventure as the hobo's leggy partner. Gregory Smith as Slick, Brian Downey as Drake and especially Nick Bateman as Ivan supply the film with its bloodiest fun. A hero like the hobo needs colorful opponents to fight and Smith, Downey and Bateman are all up to the task.

Eisener follows up on his popular Sundance short Treevenge, a hilariously horrific look at Christmas trees, with another film that flaunts its low-budget origins and throws you from laughter into screams. Cinematographer Karim Hussain, costume designer Sarah Dunsworth and production designer Ewen Dickson collaborate to give the film's Dartmouth, Nova Scotia locations the look and feel of a Roger Corman production circa '73.

Hobo may claim Hauer in a fun role but without a high-profile supporting cast along the lines of Machete it's not enough to attract an audience broader than the core B-movie fan base. Still, social media helped make the Hobo trailer an Internet sensation, which suggests that a strong social networking campaign could make the feature a top-grossing release for Magnet. While genre fans are used to seeing studio action movies get watered down to service larger audiences, Hobo is trash cinema through and through and gives fans everything they want from a drive-in throwback. That's something that doesn't happen often.

Distributor: Magnet Releasing
Cast: Rutger Hauer, Gregory Smith, Molly Dunsworth, Brian Downey and Nick Bateman
Director: James Gunn
Screenwriter: John Davies
Producers: Frank Siracusa, Paul Gross, Niv Fichman and Rob Cotterill
Genre: Action/Comedy
Running Time: 86 min
Rating: Unrated
Release date: Unset

Tags: Rutger Hauer, Gregory Smith, Molly Dunsworth, Brian Downey, Nick Bateman, James Gunn, John Davies, Frank Siracusa, Paul Gross, Niv Fichman, Rob Cotterill
Print

read all Reviews »


26 Comments

  • aprilrussell on 30 May 2018

    Imagine Nicolas Cage playing a combination of his roles from Kick-Ass and Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans and you'll get the idea. Hauer looks grizzled throughout Hobo and his wrinkled face and bulging belly suit the titular hero perfectly.
    five nights at freddy's 2 http://fivenightsat-freddys.com/five-nights-at-freddys-2 free online

  • happywheelsasz on 03 August 2018

    Useful information. Lucky me I discovered your website accidentally, and I am stunned why this twist of fate did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.
    http://happywheelsaz.com/

  • Anita D. Chavez on 29 September 2018

    This movie is really one of the most awaited action thrillers. Even I am waiting for this movie for a long time. when I saw the trailer for the first time in http://www.essayguard.co.uk/dissertation-writing/ writing services, It is more than the expected, I think will definitely break the box office records.

  • MindtechAffiliates on 25 October 2018

    Your article is great, it helps my work a lot, I appreciate your article. thank you
    <a href="http://wingsio0.com">wings io</a>

  • Juvanta on 19 October 2019

    Thanks for the article. I have read the entire content http://www.truckaccidentattorneyla.com/post/how-to-create-linkable-content/ . It was so good. I have read the Hobo With A Shotgun story and it was a great story. I really wanted to watch this movie. Thanks a lot for this information.

  • johndude835 on 09 November 2019

    I hate not having back up power in my house. http://www.templerun3.org

  • johnsmithfrr on 03 December 2019

    Lucky me I discovered your website accidentally, and I am stunned why this twist of fate did not happened in advance! http://www.templerun3.biz

  • natalie on 17 January 2020

    The following day, the Hobo goes to the producer and finishes a progression of corrupting acts, including biting glass, to get enough cash to purchase the grass cutter. Subsequent to getting his cash and entering the pawn shop, a trio of looters enter and hold a lady and her child prisoner. The Hobo gets a shotgun from the rack and murders the looters. Understanding that Hope Town needs equity, he purchases https://assignmenthelp247.com/pay-for-assignment-help the shotgun, costing equivalent to the lawnmower, and slaughters many hoodlums, including the movie producer, a pimp, a coke master, and a pedophile dressed as Santa Claus.

  • isoconsult on 20 February 2020

    This blog is so nice to me. I will continue to come here again and again. Visit my link as well. Good luck
    http://factocert.com/iso-certification-in-bahrain/

  • Kylee Ramirez on 03 March 2020

    Your article is great, it helps my work a lot, I appreciate your article. thank you http://www.sekillinick.space

  • romandavis on 06 April 2020

    Gun is an instrument for hunting the birds and animal
    https://www.theacademicpapers.co.uk/cheap-dissertation-writing-service.php

  • elainasmith on 20 April 2020

    I found your blog very educative and the information is very useful for me. Thanks for sharing
    https://www.essayhelp.uk/write-my-essay/

  • mellisalorina on 23 April 2020

    I really like the character of Hobo With A Shotgun and watch all the series but nowadays I am so busy due to my office work https://www.animationdok.com/explainer-video-animation because due to corona I am performing my work from home it is so much difficult for me but I am trying my best.

  • monicaphillipa on 24 April 2020

    Well, this site is totally related to industry well in this many new films with good response from the audience mostly Hollywood side is favourite of all the over globe. they have good content for the peoples are watching and waiting too.
    https://www.vfmseo.com/

  • sarahemi on 02 May 2020

    It is a good movie to watch all characters are my favorite. All actors have done a great job to every role. I like to watch this type of movies. Hollywood always gives good entertainment by there action and creative movies. 3d logo designer is a wonderful and professional team which have several years of experince in this field https://www.logodesigner.ae/

  • george36 on 11 May 2020

    Can powerwritings.com write a thesis for me? Do they have such writers who can manage this type of assignment. Pls, need to know ASAP
    https://essaymillbusters.com/reviews/powerwritings-com/

  • nidaamber on 20 May 2020

    This has now become an authentic cheap, sadistic, gross-out horror flick. Shot in deliberately information garish colour, it stars Rutger Hauer as a grizzled tramp who arrives by rail in a hellish American community and takes on an outrageous gang of murderous local bullies. It should have remained a trailer. Most Hauer movies go straight to those bins that were once a feature of video stores. information comes from the https://www.perfectcv.ae/resume-writing/ because they all the huge of of this artist.

  • jacoboram550 on 08 June 2020

    To make good movies is not an easy task and for this purpose, people invest huge amount and hire expensive actors and then start work on making film and after success, they earn a lot of money. I have also reviewed this movie and found it the best. https://www.cheap-essay-writing.co.uk/

  • Jescie Cantrell on 14 June 2020

    I have also reviewed this movie and found it the best. http://www.wingsio.net

  • BarbaraSelwyn on 17 June 2020

    It's quite a boring film, I don't share the enthusiastic reviews from the critics at all. I write reviews on my blog for interesting films. https://essayrabbit.com/blog/tips-on-writing-a-persuasive-essay

  • lavern walter on 29 June 2020

    My life had found its missing piece
    So as long as I live I love you
    Will have and hold you https://run3-cool.co

  • martiniden1793 on 17 July 2020

    I liked the film. It's really sarcastic which is a thing I love in movies
    https://winscrabble.com/

  • fogadsseo@gmail.com on 22 July 2020

    The best logo design in Bangalore. Brand designing service in Bangalore. https://fogads.com/branding-logo-corporate-design-agency/

  • treatassignmenthelp on 24 July 2020

    Treatassignmenthelp is team of leading professional writers for https://www.treatassignmenthelp.com to students all around the world. Contact us Today for Best https://www.essaytypist.com at very affordable price. Under TreatAssignmentHelp we provide many types of help to the students. We are the most reliable assignment helpers. We have gained our specialization after spending most of our times in making ourselves perfect. We providing 100% plagiarism free https://www.treatassignmenthelp.co.uk

  • friedrichayek2008 on 31 July 2020

    Hobo with a shotgun is a good irony on current society. It's very funny, I laughed my ass off in couple of moments. Recommend it
    <a href="https://websitebeam.com/">https://websitebeam.com/</a>;

  • vikkumukku on 10 August 2020

    By making you responsible, the Township Mod Apk lets you can develop the best city ... how to hack unlimited cash and money in our old game…m at level 66.
    https://townshiphacks.club/

What do you think?