Nesting, flying and smoking in the girl’s room

Little Birds

on February 10, 2011 by Pam Grady
Print

If the Sundance Film Festival offered a prize for best backstory it would go to Elgin James. A former gang member who renounced violence and turned to filmmaking, he developed his first feature through the Sundance Institute and now premiers it at the festival. Little Birds, which was part of the U.S. Dramatic Competition, tells of the trouble two 15-year-old girls get into far from their Salton Sea home; it may be even more compelling than James' own story. A terrific coming of age drama that perfectly captures adolescents teetering between childhood and the adult world, it has plenty to appeal to fans of both character-driven and teen dramas.

Lily (Juno Temple) and Alison (Kay Panabaker) are lifelong best friends in their small desert town, although if either girl ever examined it they would realize fissures are developing in their relationship. Lily is unhappy, her thighs a patchwork of scars and cuts that attest to her self-destructive tendencies. Allison is happier and still very much a child, a little girl happy to indulge her interest in horses with a part-time job helping a neighbor care for his. When three L.A. skate punks roll into town, Lily falls for one of them, Jesse (Kyle Gallner), and sees him as a means to escape a dead-end existence. Ally doubts that, but she is used to going along with what Lily wants, and what Lily wants now is to run away to what she thinks will be a new life.

James is a gifted screenwriter with a fine sense of place and an ear for dialogue. More than that, he remembers what it was to be a teenager. He captures the casual cruelty of boys toward girls who don't fit stereotypes or won't play along. He depicts the competition between even the closest girlfriends and the meanness that suddenly alters the tightest friendship. Temple is electric as the troubled Lily, but Panabaker's Alison is more intriguing, seemingly more immature and yet in many ways far more aware and responsible than her BFF. Jesse is complex; he seems like a nice enough guy but his willingness to go along with the harebrained schemes his crowd cooks up suggests a certain weakness, or possibly something more corrosive.

If James has a weakness as a filmmaker it is that he evidently does not trust his own abilities. Little Birds is one of those movies burdened with too many songs; the soundtrack is intrusive and wholly unnecessary. Rather than enhancing the film, the music detracts from it. This is a pity, because otherwise it's a striking debut that points to a bright future for its writer/director.

Distributor: Millennium Entertainment
Cast: Juno Temple, Kay Panabaker, Kate Bosworth, Leslie Mann, Neal McDonough and Kyle Gallner
Director/Screenwriter: Elgin James
Producers: Jamie Patricof, Alan Polsky, Gabe Polsky
Genre: Drama
Rating: R for pervasive language, some violence including a sexual assault, sexuality/nudity, drug and alcohol use - all involving teens.
Running time: 94 min
Release date: August 17 ltd.

 

Tags: Juno Temple, Kay Panabaker, Kate Bosworth, Leslie Mann, Neal McDonough, Kyle Gallner, Elgin James, Jamie Patricof, Alan Polsky, Gabe Polsky
Print

read all Reviews »


22 Comments

  • BrianAlderson on 11 December 2018

    Most motion pictures more often than not aren't sensible. They may be to a point yet parcels have a cheerful completion and all is well. Little Birds isn't cared for this by any stretch of the imagination. It doesn't have an upbeat splendid film feeling. Little winged creatures are reasonable and each and every occasion in it could easily happen. https://www.assignmentland.co.uk/

  • kellim on 14 January 2019

    I didn’t watch the movie but hear lot about this movie and the story of this movie and also listen about Elgin James and he is a great filmmaker and a song now I am planning to watch because I read the reviews of Little Birds and have good reviews once I have done with my https://www.assignmentmaster.co.uk/university-assignment/ after that I’ll watch that movie.

  • assignment help on 14 February 2019

    Students face problems while working on their homework, essay, and assignment writing tasks, due to which they are unable to score well in their academics so visit our website https://www.allassignmenthelp.com <a href="allassignmenthelp.com/">Assignment help</a>

  • andrewlewis on 31 July 2019

    It was the good creation under the direction of Elgin James and he has made a lots of creativity in between the period of 94 minutes. I really like it, director is the person which shows to all the peoples and convey a best message and also lessons. https://bestassignmentwriter.co.uk/ like all this type of creativity and suggest to share with all platforms.

  • lunasmith on 02 August 2019

    I think this movies s very amazing I don't know any movies similar to little birds but I just have to say I love the movie too. Juno temple was amazing https://masteressaywriters.co.uk/.

  • sarah009 on 01 October 2019

    I know the plot of this story when I heard about this creation, I immediately go for the plot. It seems quite interesting. https://www.gulfwriter.com/

  • alexkim on 04 October 2019

    There are many, but we are the only one who has the largest amount of satisfied clients. Catering better translation services to the students of Singapore and abroad universities. We have been successful delivered and our services are getting approval from the students.we deliver meticulous,effective,reliable translation work in numerous pair of languages like English to Chinese, English to Malay,English to Thai any more. For more information visit at https://www.singaporetranslators.com

  • sarah009 on 25 October 2019

    I have seen many film festivals and love to be a critic and give reviews on the film, movies, sketches, and events. It is true that Little Birds is one of those movies loaded with too many songs which is kind of disturbing. https://www.cvmaker.ae/

  • noracris on 08 November 2019

    In our society, every third person is connected with music, movie plus entertainment world as well they all keep great taught, views relating to new movies and their stories. Instead of me also love to give a review about the individual performance of a film and the co-star performing on it besides this also give my people guidance that how easily they could get all those costumes which they see behind the screen during a performance of a star. For more inspiring information must explore https://www.customizejackets.com/events/best-black-friday-deals

  • johnsmith123 on 19 November 2019

    There have been a bunch of films about teen girls but as far as about Little Birds, it is a dull movie. https://www.theacademicpapers.co.uk/masters-dissertation-help.php

  • bettybove on 25 November 2019

    I like different festivals. It's a great opportunity to relax and for meeting new people. It's necessary for me and for my job on https://dissertationmasters.com/order-business-plan-online.html. Furthermore, I write posts for my blog. It's not about education. it's my lifestyle blog.

  • saraandee on 05 December 2019

    i want to research about chocolate https://valentinewishes.net/category/chocolate-day-wishes/ and want to wish my love

  • leahmelda on 05 December 2019

    <a href="https://researchpapers247.com/write-my-research-paper/">; Write My Research Paper Services</a> is there for those clients searching for <a href="https://researchpapers247.com/write-my-research-paper/">; Who Will Write My Research Paper</a> and <a href="https://researchpapers247.com/write-my-research-paper/">; Custom Research Writing Services</a>.

  • leahmelda on 05 December 2019

    Nursing Assignment Writing Services you secure from the writing company are versatile such as Nursing Research Paper Services and Nursing Assignment Writing Help assistance.
    https://researchpapers247.com/nursing-assignment-writing/

  • joanmelda1@gmail.com on 10 December 2019

    Despite the low fees charged when you request for Online Essay Writing Services and Online Custom Essay Writing Services, the company still maintain high quality Best Custom Essay Services.

  • joanmelda1@gmail.com on 10 December 2019

    Handling Homework Writing Help Services is not easy since one has to seek the services of a Homework Writing Service Expert who delivers the ideal for Legitimate Custom Homework Writing Services.
    https://researchpapers247.com/homework-writing-services/

  • joanmelda1@gmail.com on 10 December 2019

    Clients who seek Nursing Research Paper Writing Services Online have the opportunity of receiving a high quality Nursing Research Paper Services from credible Legitimate Custom Nursing Research Paper Service company.
    https://www.meldaresearch.com/nursing-research-papers/

  • joanmelda1@gmail.com on 10 December 2019

    Custom Term Paper Writing Services are private in that every Custom Term Paper Writing Help Services and Online Term Paper Writing Services client seek from a writing company.
    https://www.meldaresearch.com/custom-term-papers-writing/

  • joanmelda1@gmail.com on 10 December 2019

    Our Legitimate Custom Research Paper Writing Service company is well known in USA for writing the Best Custom Research Papers and Research Paper Help Services.
    https://www.meldaresearch.com/custom-research-paper-writing-services-2/

  • stefancarl on 24 December 2019

    Improve your dissertation writing skills by taking help from Professional Aussie writers of students assignment help at a low rate at any time. https://articlerockstars.com/improve-your-dissertation-writing-skills-by-taking-help-from-professional-aussie-writers/

  • faruq7866 on 10 January 2020

    If you want to improve anything then kindly visit this page and you will happy to know https://valentinedayimages.net/valentine-day-images-2020/

  • sasha on 09 February 2020

    As valentine is near. Check out some best from https://happynewyear2k20.com/happy-valentines-day/ and make your valentine best

What do you think?